Why Tiree?

Tiree Shell
Shell from a West Coast Beach

As far as we know, we can lay no claim to any historical link to the Isle of Tiree. Never did we ever imagine that we would moving to a Scottish island, far less to Tiree. Yet we firmly believe that our going to the Island is part of God’s plan for our lives.

Last December, at a crucial point in our decision making, we were reading in the Book of Exodus how God said to Moses, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest”  and we understood this to be God assuring us concerning the move to Tiree. Months went by and it appeared little progress was being made when once again God’s word spoke to us in the course of our daily reading of the Bible, “God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?” Since then, there have been so many indications that God wants us on Tiree. We have even heard of people praying about our possible move to Tiree; people we have never met.

We are reminded of the words of a song
I do not know what lies ahead,
the way I cannot see;
yet One stands near to be my guide,
He’ll show the way to me:

The refrain continues,
I know who holds the future,
and He’ll guide me with His hand;
with God things don’t just happen,
everything by Him is planned.
So as I face tomorrow,
with its problems large and small,
I’ll trust the God of miracles,
give to Him my all.

(Alfred B Smith & Eugene Clarke;
1947 Singspiration/MPI)

How we look forward to being part of the community on the island.

