Remote! But Not Removed!

Photograph of relaytower
Telecommunications Tower, Scarinish

Where we live is considered by some as remote, but it is not removed. It may be island life but it is not isolated. So this morning I awoke to the sound of an alert concerning a website I have started to follow since moving to Tiree. My interest in this particular blog arose out of a book we were given as a present to mark our move to the island.

The writer said, “In the early hours before dawn, I ask myself big questions, such as who are you?  and what do you want of this life?”  She commented, “I know it may be a tad late to be addressing these major issues, but I seem to be doing it now.” I had to read on for it was something I had shared recently with some of my fellow islanders.

If someone asks me, “Who are you?”
I might answer, “Alan”
“No, that’s my name!”

“Who are you?” “Oh, I’m a pastor, a minister.”
“No, that is my calling to serve.”

“Well, I’m a Scotsman, a Scot.”
“No, that’s my nationality.”

“Oh, I see, I’m a Baptist, I believe the Bible is God’s Word.”
“No, that’s the particular denomination I belong to.
The latter is my theological position.”

In the society in which we live people are often wrongly identified by their physical appearance,their height, weight, skin colour or hair colour or even a physical or mental illness that they might have. For example some people remark, “I see you are a diabetic.” I know what they mean, but I am not an illness.

By God’s amazing grace, I am a child of God. It is not something I deserve. I have not earned it. God says of himself, “I Am who I Am.” That’s his name, the name he revealed to Moses. And reverently I can say, “I am who I am”. By grace, I am a child of God

The Bible says, that God has “set eternity in the human heart.” St Augustine spoke of a God-shaped hole in every life – saying we are restless until we find our rest in God. Jesus alone brings true meaning and purpose to life. So it is in Jesus Christ I find my true worth. In him I find my security. I know he loves and accepts me. In him I find significance. Knowing Jesus enables me to face not just the storms that will blow over the island, but the challenges that I will have to personally face in the coming days.

The hymn writer testifies,
In heavenly love abiding, no change my heart shall fear.
And safe in such confiding, for nothing changes here.
The storm may roar without me, my heart may low be laid,
But God is round about me, and can I be dismayed?

We did not come to Tiree to escape from life, but to live life.

