Let Me Live

Balevullin Bay
Balevullin Bay

The Isle of Tiree is unique among the Inner Hebrides. Big wide skies, beautiful beaches, bird song and machair all make the island so special. I can think of so many reasons why anyone might declare, “Let me live!”

“Let me live to see the elusive corncrake.”
“Let me live to see the sunrise.”
“Let me live to see the sunset.”
“Let me live to appreciate the power of the sea.”
“Let me live that I may return one day”
“Let me live to have a child.”
“Let me live to have that job.”
“Let me live to have or hold or own.”

There are so many reasons why anyone might declare, “Let me live!” But to pray, ‘Let me live that I may praise you’ is to begin to realise the meaning and purpose of your life. It is to find fulfilment through wholehearted consecration to Jesus. It is an expression of faith. It argues that if the Lord God lets me live I will have cause to praise him. This is what the Psalmist (the Bible Song Writer) prayed.

It includes praising the Lord in the midst of his people. It involves praising God with the spoken word and in song. It is living thankfully, giving God thanks in all circumstances. It is living and working wholeheartedly. It is living lives that are distinctively different; Christ-like.

The only way to keep on living daily to God’s praise and glory is to maintain a living relationship through fellowship with the Lord. It is too keep in step with the Spirit Of God, walking in obedience. It is to let the Word of Christ dwell in you richly.  It is to let the peace of Christ rule in your heart.

Let me live that I may praise you,
and may your laws sustain me.
Psalm 119:175

