‘Tiree – a place of endless sky and turquoise sea’

Blue Sky - Hebridean Airways Flight 19.01.2015
Blue Sky – Hebridean Airways Flight 19.01.2015

“Tiree is a place of endless sky and turquoise sea with scents of a salty breeze, wild thyme and clover, and the sounds of birdsong, sheep, and waves tumbling onto white sand.” Obviously the writer, Julie H. Ferguson, is a person who has a real appreciation of beauty. She continues in her blog, “My favourite spots were the beaches. To walk them alone but for the occasional seabird above and waders at the water’s edge was my kind of bliss. … … The lack of tourists, the breathtaking views, and the sense of remoteness will draw us back to Tiree for a longer stay next time — and there will be a next time.”

MV Lord of the Isles and the sunlit, snow capped Ben More (Mull) 19.01.2015
MV Lord of the Isles and the sunlit, snow capped Ben More (Mull) 19.01.2015

Commenting on the weather she says, “I had packed sweaters, a hat, gloves, and a scarf for my mid-September visit and I had not forgotten my rain gear. Much to my surprise I didn’t need them.” Well she certainly would have today!

MV Clansman approaches the pier - 20.01.15
MV Clansman approaches the pier – 20.02.15

Once again wind and rain are making their presence felt. The MV Clansman set sail from Oban bound for Coll and Tiree but the vessel was unable to berth at either port due to the swell. For those on board an 8 hour trip and the frustration of being alongside the pier, but unable to disembark. On such occasions I am filled with admiration for those who work on the pier, handing the ropes in such stormy conditions.

MV Clansman attempts to berth 20.01.15
MV Clansman attempts to berth 20.01.15

We might yet get an “additional sailing” tomorrow.

