Come Dine With Me

Aware that I would be ‘home alone’ I was kindly invited out by hosts to the Sunday Carvery at the ‘Cobbled Cow’’ Restaurant/Cafe located in Tiree’s Rural Centre. Contributors to Trip Advisor have variously described the restaurant, the food and its owners: “Little gem with great owners”, “Excellent food, well presented and friendly staff!!!”, “Excellent find on Tiree”.

Today was no exception. On a day of wild weather when the ferry was cancelled, my surroundings were warm and bright, the food almost too tempting and the staff – Alan and Janette Reid – so welcoming and helpful. In addition to the roasts of Beef Topside, Pork Loin, Mutton, Lamb Chicken was “Argyll Venison, silverside, roasted with glazed pomander and Scottish brambles”. Chef Alan’s suggestion that the venison and beef would go well together was spot on. To accompany the various roast meats was mash, roasted potatoes, honey glazed parsnips, peas and carrots. As for starters and sweets, we were spoilt for choice. I will leave the photographs to speak for themselves.

‘Thank you to my kind hosts for this treat,’ I sure hope it will not be too long until I am back for Sunday lunch at the’ Cobbled Cow Carvery‘. As the owner put in on Facebook – 01879 220375 to book a table, or just swing by.

