After ‘The After Glow’

The Pier, Scarinish, Tiree
The Pier, Scarinish, Tiree

It is hard to imagine that about 18 hours ago I was standing on the Pier capturingthe after glow‘. Today it would have been foolhardy to venture there. The wind was gusting to 64mph, the waves were lashing the pier from a south easterly direction and the swell was impressive as rolled the length of it.

DSCF0156
Not quite as impressive!

On Monday we were battered by a storm with winds gusting to over 70mph. On Tuesday, we had almost unbroken sunshine with no wind to talk about, The forecast for tomorrow is for a repeat of today’s weather, with anything even stronger winds. This is “Life On Tiree” – An “Island on the Edge”.

The songwriter states,
The storm may roar without me,
My heart may low be laid;
But God is round about me,
And can I be dismayed?

Although not yet announced, it appears highly unlikely that there will a ferry tomorrow. Today’s flight has been delayed, no doubt waiting for increased visibility. So a reminder of yesterday’s blue skies and sunset would not be amiss.

IMG_1417
The After Glow, from the Pier looking West over Ben Gott

“Bright skies will soon be o’er me,
Where darkest clouds have been;
My hope I cannot measure,
My path to life is free;
My Saviour has my treasure,
And He will walk with me.”

