My Seat

By Where The Corncrake Cries
Panoramic View
Panoramic View
Over the years we have had various chairs, seats and sofas, but I have never had one that I thought of as ‘my seat’.  There is one however that I often refer to as ‘my seat’ and it doesn’t even belong to me. In fact, it is dedicated to the memory of ‘Donald MacKinnon’(25.03.26-17.07.98) of Sandaig, Isle of Tiree.
In Memory
In Memory
You will find ‘my seat’ in front of the dumpy lighthouse located on the headland at the entrance to the old Harbour in Scarinish. From my living room window I can keep an eye on ‘my seat’ and even see if anyone else is enjoying the view from this vantage point. On calm days it provides a place to ‘rest and be thankful’. When the sea is storm tossed and the wind is blowing a gale it is impossible to sit there.
Winter View
Winter View
Shortly after moving to Tiree I imagined I would spend some time there with a flask of coffee and a book, but I have to confess that I have only done this on a few occasions, even although I usually pass my seat at least five times a week.
IMG_1555
What is so striking about this seat is its position. On clear days from my vantage point I am able to see the Dutchman’s Cap and the Island of MulI including  Ben More – the latter  snow capped in the winter. When the light is right I can see all the way from the Nevis Range down to the Paps of Jura. The breadth of this view reminds me that although we live a tiny island out in the Atlantic, we are part of the country of my birth – Scotland.
Harbour View
Harbour View
