Bliadhna Mhath Ùr

An Turas’ is the Gaelic for ‘Journey’‘.
It is the name given to a work of art
situated very close to the CalMac Office
that gives a view of the island land and seascape.
How appropriate An Turas is for the journey into the unknown that we face.

dsc_0005

In 1939 when Queen Elizabeth was 13 years old
she handed her father a poem by Minnie Louise Haskins.
It is said that she thought he mind find it helpful.
In the forward to the book
The Servant Queen and the King she serves’
she writes,
As I embark on my 91st years,
I invite you to join me in reflecting on the words of a poem
quoted by my father King George VI,
in his Christmas Day broadcast in 1939,
the year that this country went to war
for the second time in a quarter century.

The words inscribed on An Turas - The Journey
The words inscribed on a photograph of An Turas – The Journey

This ‘Life on Tiree’ wishing you a very ‘Happy New Year’.

