Home

Home to this . . .
Home to the machair.
Home to azure blue waters.
Home to white shell sand beaches.
Home to blue sky and a breath taking sunset.

In galleries mouse-over for captions and double-click for larger photos

It was good to be home to an island with a real sense of community.
Glasgow’s slogan these days is that ‘People make Glasgow’.
This is equally true of the island of Tiree.
People make Tiree.

Hydrangea at Milton Harbour

The sun was shining and the sand was so white.
The blue water was dazzling and dancing.
The machair was ablaze with colour.
But it is not always this way.

The machair will die back.
The wind can rise and waves crash,
Even in summer storms can suddenly strike.
The dark clouds of trouble, tragedy and pain are realities.

David, one of the Bible’s song writer speaks of the sunny days.
The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.

The waters of Vaul Bay

David recognises dark clouds can suddenly appear.
Yet, he knows his Shepherd will not abandon him.
He knows that the Lord his God is there with him.

The waters of Vaul Bay

Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

The setting sun from Vaul

David has this great assurance,
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
  all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.
Psalm 23

Sunset from Vaul

This is ‘Life on Tiree’.

